Friday, May 28, 2021

May 28th, 2021 - Decimating The Digital Küül-Aid Of Christendom


Hello, happy Friday, and hails metal maniacs and artisan brew fanatics!  Your drinking buddy the Meista here starting the long weekend off right with a killer pairing for ya... "Decimate Christendom", the kick-ass 7th album by death metal legends Incantation and a deliciously tart, juicy, and dangerously crushable Digital Küül-Aid from the fine folks at Heber Valley Brewing Company!  Hell yes!!  And behold the amazing beauty of the vinyl!!   \m/  \m/

Album Info:
  • Artist: Incantation
  • Title: "Decimate Christendom"
  • Recorded: early 2004 at Mars Recording Studio in Cleveland, Ohio 
  • Release date: July 27th, 2004 (7th full-length studio release by Incantation)
  • Record company: Listenable Records
  • Production: Bill Korecky and Incantation
  • Album cover art: Miran Kim (artwork) and Bill Venner (band logo)
  • Personnel: Joe Lombard (bass), John McEntee (guitars and vocals), Kyle Severn (drums)
  • Musical style: Death metal
  • Sound: Aggressive, heavy as hell, and a bit sludgy, the sound on "Decimate Christendom" is classic Incantation!  More than an album, it is a sonic journey of the highest degree!  From the opening notes of "Decimate Christendom" to the final of "Exiling Righteousness", this album grabs you by the collar, slams you against the wall, and demands your attention!  McEntee's guitar work is fiery and intricate while brutal rhythm section of the late Lombard (R.I.P.) and Severn is runaway freight train barreling down the tracks!
  • Major themes: Death, darkness, the occult, mythology, anti-Christianity, blasphemy, Satan, misery, violence, etc.
  • Tracks: 
    1. "Decimate Christendom"
    2. "Dying Divinity"
    3. "Oath Of Armageddon"
    4. "Blaspheme The Sacraments"
    5. "Merciless Tyranny"
    6. "Horns Of Eradication"
    7. "Unholy Empowerment Of Righteous Deprivation"
    8. "Thorns Of Everlasting Persecution"
    9. "No Paradise Awaits"
    10. "Eternal Darkness Under Conquered Skies"
    11. "Feeble Existence"
    12. "Exiling Righteousness"

Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Heber Valley Brewing Company (Heber, Utah)
  • Brew: Digital Küül-Aid
  • Style: Kettle sour
  • Serving: 16 ounce can
  • ABV: 7.1%
  • Ingredients: Blackcurrant, blackberries, and raspberries and aged in Hungarian red wine barrels 
  • Pour: The Digital Küül-Aid pours an opaque, deep violet hue with a foamy light pink, huge 2+ finger head with good sustain and lots of soapy, layered lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is fruity, tart, and .  There are big aromas of fresh raspberries, blackberries, and currants, along with raspberry jam, lemons, plum, red wine, a touch of honey, and light grains.
  • Taste: The taste follows the nose with lots of tart, fruity, slightly sweet, and slightly grainy characteristics.  There are notes of raspberry juice, cranberry, lemon juice, plum, red wine, .
  • Mouthfeel: Medium-bodied and well carbonated, the mouthfeel is very crisp, fizzy, tart, and very juicy, yet smooth with a dry, lip-puckering finish. 

Overall Pairing: The Digital Küül-Aid from Heber Valley Brewing is a refreshingly tart and sweet brew that goes down easy... a perfect foil to the dark aggression, fiery riffs, and killer hooks of  this kick-ass album!  'Nuff said!  I highly recommend both the album and the beer!

Cheers and hails!!

No comments:

Post a Comment