Friday, October 27, 2017

October 27, 2017 - Chain Of Command Of The Helo Squad

Good evening rockers and brew lovers!  The Meista here tonight pairing another great, underrated Jag Panzer album: "Chain Of Command" and a Helo Hefe from Red Leg Brewing Company!   Hell yeah!!  This pairing is dedicated to all the men and women who bravely serve or have served in the armed forces both at home and abroad.  Cheers!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Jag Panzer
  • Title: "Chain Of Command"
  • Recorded: 1987 at Avalanche Studios in Denver, Colorado
  • Release date: Original version released June 21st, 2004; limited edition yellow-brown vinyl released 2008 (although it would have been their 2nd studio album, it wasn't released until 2004, making it the 7th studio album by Jag Panzer)
  • Record company: Original version released by Century Media Record; yellow-brown vinyl released by Night of the Vinyl Dead Records
  • Production: Jag Panzer 
  • Album cover art: Aurelien Police
  • Personnel: Mark Briody (guitars and keyboards), Christian Lasegue (guitars), Bob Parduba (lead vocals), Rikard Stjernquist (drums), and John Tetley (bass)
  • Musical style: Heavy metal, power metal with elements of speed metal 
  • Sound: With the departure of vocalist Harry "The Tyrant Conklin", drummer Rick Hilyard, and guitarist Joey Tafolla after their first album, Jag Panzer recruited Christian Lasegue, Bob Parduba, and Rikard Stjernquist, which brought a bit of a different sound to the band.  A little more polished than their first album, "Chain Of Command" is still a heavy-hitting metal monster!  There's almost a Tygers of Pan Tang vibe going... especially with Parduba's vocals.
  • Major themes: War, valor, power, relationships, darkness, good vs. evil, pain, etc.
  • Tracks:   
  1. "Prelude"
  2. "Chain Of Command"
  3. "Shadow Thief"
  4. "She Waits"
  5. "Ride Through the Storm"
  6. "In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida" (Iron Butterfly cover)
  7. "Never Surrender"
  8. "Burning Hell"
  9. "Sworn To Silence"
  10. "Dream Theme"
  11. "Gavotte In D"
  12. "When The Walls Come Down" (bonus track)

Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Red Leg Brewing Company (Colorado Springs, Colorado)
  • Website:
  • Brew: Helo Hefe
  • Style: Hefeweizen
  • Serving: 12 ounce can
  • ABV: 5.3%
  • Pour: The Helo Hefe pours a very cloudy golden-amber with frothy half-finger, white head that dissipates quickly, leaving only trace lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is fruity, spicy, and bready.  There are big aromas of banana, spice cake, cloves, nutmeg, toffee, fresh baked bread, and subtle apple.
  • Taste: The taste follows the nose with lots of bready, malty, fruity, and spicy flavors.  There are notes of banana, cloves, nutmeg, cracked wheat bread, and sweet caramel.
  • Mouthfeel: Light to medium in body and well-carbonated, the Helo Hefe's mouthfeel is very smooth, very with a dry, spicy finish.
Overall pairing: The Helo Hefe from Red Leg Brewing Company is delicious and robust, yet very drinkable Hefeweizen in the traditional sense... a great brew to pair with the depth and musical prowess of Jag Panzer and their great album "Chain Of Command"!

Cheers and hails!!

No comments:

Post a Comment