Friday, July 25, 2014

July 25th, 2014 - Tyranny Of IPA, Tower Of Souls

Evenin' friends!  The Meista here with another rockin' pairing for ya.  How 'bout a Tower 10 IPA from Karl Strauss Brewing Company and "Tyranny Of Souls" by Bruce Dickinson?  HELL YES!!

"Tyranny Of Souls" is the 6th solo album by Iron Maiden vocalist Bruce Dickinson.  It was released on May 23rd, 2005.  Dickinson employed the following musicians for the album: Ray "Greezer" Burke - bass guitar (tracks 1, 4-6, 8, 10), Maestro Mistheria - keyboards, David Moreno - drums, Juan Perez - bass guitar (tracks 2, 3), and Roy Z - guitars, bass guitar (tracks 7, 9).  "Tyranny Of Souls" conveys a very Maiden-esque sound, but toned down a bit.  It is aggressive, fast-paced, melodic, and very, very heavy!  Lyrical themes include sin and judgment, the birth of human flight, aliens, Shakespeare's Macbeth, and death.  It may not be Iron Maiden, but it is still kick-ass, bang-your-head, pump-your-fist metal!!  Here's the complete track list:
  1. "Mars Within"
  2. "Abduction"
  3. "Soul Intruders"
  4. "Kill Devil Hill"
  5. "Navigate the Seas of the Sun"
  6. "River of No Return"
  7. "Power of the Sun"
  8. "Devil on a Hog"
  9. "Believil"
  10. "A Tyranny of Souls"
From Karl Strauss Brewing Company outta San Diego, California, the Tower 10 IPA is a big, tasty ale brewed with Pale 2-Row, White Wheat, and Caramel 40 malts along with Cascade and Chinook hops and then dry hopped with Centennial. It pours a hazy, clover honey-gold with a frothy 1-2 finger head that displays intricate lacing throughout.  The nose is both earthy and citrusy.  Big aromas of pine, grapefruit, lemon, and bitter/spicy herbs abound.   A full-flavored and well-balanced brew, the Tower 10 IPA is characterized by "intense grapefruit and pine flavors that linger through its dry finish" along with sweet caramel notes.  Crips and refreshing, but with an aggressive, bitter bite, the Tower 10 IPA is a great companion to the might of Bruce Dickinson's "Tyranny Of Souls"!!

Cheers... and Hails!!

No comments:

Post a Comment